Oh, peach cobbler and apple pie

It is very rare that I bake anything that’s not banana bread or a box of brownies. (Oh yeah, and I also am pretty fond of those cookies that you just put on the tray).

I love to cook, but baking is a whole different ball game. It requires patience, which is something that only hits me every so often.

Yesterday I was in the mood for hand crafting things, so the idea of baking for Joseph’s Thanksgiving work party seemed like a good excuse. I actually had even bigger plans of also making soap, Christmas ornaments and muffins with coffee in them, but baking really does take a long time. (Don’t worry, the other things will happen and will be blogged about, so start the mental prepping!)

For now, here’s my baking adventure…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The menu

Joseph was instructed to bring dessert, and I wasn’t really content with his “I’ll just buy some pies” talk. First of all, that’s expensive. Second, I should probably learn how to make a pie if I ever want to have children. (That is a prerequisite, right?)

So after a quick visit to Google and my recipe box, the menu was set: Peach cobbler and apple pie.

Peach Cobbler

I had no idea how easy it is to make a cobbler. I found this handy recipe online called Great Grandma’s Peach Cobbler. I doubled it, so I used two 29 oz. cans of peaches, mostly drained, but I did leave some of the juice on top.

Then, you just mix the sugar, egg and flour together and pour the crumbly goodness on top. After that, you melt your butter and pour it over the top.

I usually think of cobblers as super sweet, so I didn’t fully expect to love this. But it was surprisingly really good. This is what the final product ended up looking like…

Apple Pie

The apple pie was a little more intense. I used my Grandma Tottie’s recipe, which is for sure a good one. The crust was the part I had problems with. I don’t have her recipe she used for crust, so I Googled. The first one I tried didn’t have enough water, so I had to redo it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
For the filling I used real Granny Smith Apples (I sense a grandma-trend going on in this baking extravaganza). Grandma Tottie usually used canned Lucky Leaf Apples, but I couldn’t find them. Plus the real thing is good and all…except the part where you have to core, peal and cut them. I used seven for the pie.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After placing them all in a bowl that is too small, I mixed them with all the standard delicious apple pie filling. Brown sugar, white sugar, cinnamon, butter and a little flour and salt. Since I made the dough for the crust twice and had extra apples, I decided to experiment with making some mini apple pies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can tell I got a little lazy with the lattice work on these little guys. Only three of them turned out in tact, but the others still tasted alright.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The bigger one was easier to lattice the dough. And it turned out pretty, though I’ll never truly know how it tastes.

This entry was published on November 14, 2012 at 7:52 pm. It’s filed under Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Oh, peach cobbler and apple pie

  1. Jennifer Matthewsonson on said:

    That looks delicious.

  2. Um, yes. I love your writing style along with your content! I can relate to it a lot more than other blogs and places that have recipes and baking things. (Oh and I also like those cookies that you just put on the tray!)

  3. Phillip MElancon on said:

    This looks absolutely delicious, I would kill for a serving right now. Probably should have ate breakfast.. 🙂

  4. Pingback: We, Love: Album Cover + Fiction «

Leave a Reply

